top of page
SFSU Logo.png

The Southern GP Federation Support Unit came into existence in 2016 and supports three individual GP Federations -  Armagh & Dungannon GP Federation, Craigavon GP Federation, and Newry & District GP Federation. The Southern GP Federation Support Unit works collaboratively alongside 72 GP Practices across the province, employing approximately 160 staff across the three Federations.


Southern FSU has been designed to provide Federation members with support, advice and expertise in the design and delivery of service provision.  SFSU functions include central management expertise, planning, accounting, communication, corporate governance, human resources and the delivery of a range of services on behalf of Federations. The core purpose of SFSU is to ensure that clinicians are free to focus on ensuring that they provide the best clinical outcomes for their patients, while improving the quality of care that they receive.

SFSU is staffed by a small team who are always available to help employees with queries regarding payroll, HR matters or any other query you may have.

Desk with Stethoscope

Southern FSU Office Staff

Southern FSU Executive Team

Dr Robert Carlile

Co-Chair SFSU

Dr Stuart MacDonald

Co-Chair SFSU

Dr Deirdre Cleary

Chair Armagh & Dungannon Federation 

Mr Damian Fearon

Treasurer SFSU

Dr Andrew Macdonald

Chair Craigavon Federation

Dr Dan Murtagh

Armagh & Dungannon Federation

Dr Tayo Idowu

Chair Newry & District Federation

Dr Rodney Patterson

Craigavon Federation

Dr Frances O'Hagan

SFSU Director

Mr Francis Rice

Non-Executive Director

bottom of page